Punishments for drunk driving in Rhode Island are very severe from automatic license suspension to fines and possible jail time. It is ethical when charged with drunk driving or Breathalyzer refusal to contact an experienced drunk driving defense attorney like Moretti, Pcrlow and Bonin. The attorneys at our firm have decades of experience in representing those charged with drunk driving.
If you have been arrested and lost your privilege to drive, hire an experienced attorney who will present the best strategy to keep you out of jail and get you your license back. There are many steps that have to be taken when you are pulled over for a sobriety check and it is not uncommon that procedures were not followed and mistakes were
made by the arresting officer. These missteps create opportunities for us to overcome your charges.
In Rhode Island you are considered a drunk driver if you have a BAG (blood alcohol content) of more than .08%. If you are a commercial vehicle driver, it is .04%. If you are under 21, it is .02%. As an implied consent state, all drivers traveling the toads of Rhode Island, if stopped by a law officer due to suspicion of driving under the influence
of alcohol, drugs or both, may be asked to submit to a test of their blood, breath or urine. If you refuse to submit to a BAG test, your license is immediately suspended and could be for 6 months and up to 5 years depending on if you have refused the test before.
If you are charged with drunk driving and/or refusal to take a breathalyzer test you may be eligible under Rhode Island General Laws for a Hardship License. To obtain the Hardship License you must provide the court with proof of employment status and hours of employment or any other legitimate reason justifying a Hardship License. In addition, to obtain a Hardship License you must install an Ignition Interlock device in your vehicle prior to obtaining said license. In order to receive your Hardship License, you must present the court with a sworn affidavit detailing your need for a Hardship License. In addition, some judges may also requite a heating during which the motorist must testify regarding their need for a Hardship License. For a fast offense DUI, a judge may impose a minimum thirty (30) day license suspension and an imposition of an Ignition Interlock system for a period of three (3) months to one (1) year. If you are eligible for a Hardship License, you may drive with your Hardship License during this minimum thirty (30) day license suspension. For a first offense refusal to rake a breathalyzer test, a judge may impose a minimum thirty (30) day license suspension and require the installation of an Ignition Interlock system for a period of six (6) months to two (2) years. Again, if you are able to obtain a Hardship License, you may drive pursuant to the terms of said Hardship License during said thirty (30) day license suspension. The penalties increase for each subsequent offense of a refusal and/or a drunken driving violation with jail time possibly being imposed for each potential subsequent violation of the drunken driving statutes of the State of Rhode Island.